6.4 COMMUNICATOR CONFIGURATION

Video tutorial

Tutorial

To access the communicator configuration, we will click on the three points that we have in the upper right corner of the upper options bar. From among the options that it displays, we select “Configuration“.

Within the configuration area we go to the “App Behavior” section.

There we find the different communicator configuration options that LetMeTalk offers us.

The first one is “Enable modifications“. This option is activated by default. When deactivating it, the “+” sign that allowed us to add new categories, pictograms or images will disappear from the top menu. Likewise, the contextual menu that appeared when making a long click on a pictogram or image will be disabled. This option is very useful when we want the user to not be able to modify the communication notebook that we have created.

Enable modifications disabled.

Enable modifications activated.

The second of the options is “Show words”. This option is activated by default and allows us to show or hide the text that appears below the pictograms or images on the communication board. Although the text is hidden, when adding the pictogram to the accumulated phrase or clicking on it, the established text will be spoken.

The third option that we are going to discuss is “Show words in the pronunciation bar“. This option is activated by default and allows us to show or hide the text that appears below the pictograms or images in the accumulated phrase. Although the text is hidden when playing the accumulated phrase, the text assigned to each image or pictogram will be voiced.

The fourth option we are going to talk about is “Speak the name of the categories“. This option is disabled by default. By activating it, every time we access a category, its name will be announced. It is a measure of auditory reinforcement for the visual and textual that the application already offers.


In fifth place we find “Speak selected word” (speak selected word). This option is activated by default and what it does is speak each word that we are selecting before adding it to the accumulated phrase. If we deactivate it, the pictogram or image is added to the accumulated phrase without the auditory reinforcement.

The “Huge PLAY Button” option is activated by default and shows us a large Play button at the end of the accumulated phrase. This Play button, as we saw at the beginning of this manual, announces the accumulated phrase that we have composed up to that moment.

If we deactivate this “huge PLAY button” option, the play button moves to the top options bar and is displayed with the same icon but at a smaller size.

The option “Delete phrase automatically” is deactivated by default, although it is one of the most interesting options to activate or deactivate. If the phrase is deactivated, it must be deleted manually using the delete button that we saw at the beginning of this manual. On the other hand, if we activate it, when we press the PLAY button to speak the phrase, it will be deleted once it has been spoken. For use as a communicator, it is appropriate to have this option activated. On the other hand, if at a certain moment we want to work on the construction of sentences (morphosyntax) with the user, we may want the sentence not to disappear.

In eighth place we find an option that, without a doubt, makes our communicator completely transform. “Enable the pronunciation bar” (accumulated phrase) is activated by default. If we deactivate it, LetMeTalk becomes a communicator by direct selection, that is, it does not accumulate the elements that we select, but speaks them directly (if we have activated the option to speak the selected word).

If we activate this option, the accumulated phrase area reappears.

The “Go back to Start category after selecting word” option is disabled by default. If we activate it, every time we enter a category and select a pictogram or image, the system will return us to the main screen. If we have our board organized in such a way that several elements necessary to compose a sentence (verbs, nouns, adjectives,…) are contained within a category, it is better that we deactivate this option so that the construction of the sentence is more agile and operational. .

If we want the user to only be able to use LetMeTalk as a communicator, we will disable the “Show the action bar” option and set a password for access to the configuration area (we will explain how to do this later). Therefore, it is an option that is activated by default.

One of the additional features of LetMeTalk is to send/share the messages that we are composing through the social networks that we have configured on the device. The “Select default messaging application” option allows us to establish one of them as the only option when pressing the “Send” button (which we will explain later). By default, “Chooser” is set, which allows the user to choose from all the ones they have installed. But, if what we want is to limit and only use one of them, we will select within the list that shows us the one that interests us to establish.

Another block of configuration options are those related to “Image sizes“. This block of options allows us to configure the sizes of the images and categories to adapt them to the resolution of our device or to adapt it to the number of categories and vocabulary with which the person works.

The first option that it offers us is to establish the “Size of the image of the category“. If we press it, a pop-up window appears in which we can select between different sizes.

By default, it is set to “normal“. If we choose a “smaller” or “very small” size, we see that the pictograms of the categories are now shown at a smaller size and a greater number of categories fit per line.

We can also modify the size of the images of the pronunciation bar (accumulated phrase). If we choose “very large” we can see the effect we achieve by composing a phrase.

Finally, we can set the “search results image size“.

In this way, when entering the pictogram search window (in the add new image dialog) we can see more or less results on the screen depending on the selected size.